Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Protective Orders


The Protective Order Process will be changing beginning January 1, 2020:

AZPOINT, the Arizona Protective Order Initiation and Notification Tool, has been designed to help you fill out a petition for an Order of Protection. Through an interview in AZPOINT, you can quickly and accurately fill out the forms that are needed to request an Order of Protection at an Arizona court. An Order of Protection is a court order that is issued to stop a person from committing domestic violence or from contacting other people protected by the order. The portal will also help you figure out whether you (the plaintiff) and the person from whom you are seeking protection (the defendant) have a qualifying relationship for an Order of Protection. Your information will be saved in AZPOINT for up to 90 days. At any time during this 90-day period, you may take the next step of filing your petition at an Arizona court. Until you file your petition at a court, you will be able to return to AZPOINT to update your information if necessary. You are encouraged to speak to a victim advocate before you file your petition. An advocate can help you make a safety plan and give you more information about how an Order of Protection works and how it will be served on the defendant. For more information, click here to go to AZPOINT.

The hours of operation for protective orders are Monday- Thursday, from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m, however, the court only has a part time judge, so it is recommended you contact the court for judge availability.

In an emergency, contact your local law enforcement.

  • Information and Petition for Order of Protection-Injunction Against Harassment

  • Información en Español

  • Defendant’s Guide Sheet English and Spanish

  • Order of Protection/Injunction Against Harassment-Request for Hearing form

    Protection Orders…

    …are civil court orders prohibiting a specific person from coming near you, your home, work site, school, or other  locations as listed on the order.

    …are based on the relationship you have with the party you are seeking protection from.

    …are issued by a judge and must be served by a police officer, deputy sheriff or process server.

    …are effective for 12 months from service date.

    …can provide you with legal recourse if the served person violates the order.

    …cannot resolve landlord/tenant disputes.

    …cannot change custody or visitation orders.

    …cannot guarantee your safety.

    There are two types of Protection Orders:

    The first type is an Order of Protection and is used when…

    …the parties are married, or were married in the past.

    …the parties live together, or lived together in the past.

    …the parties are the parents of a child in common.

    …one of the parties is pregnant by the other.

    …one of the parties is a parent, grandparent, in-law or sibling.

    NOTE:  THE COURT NEEDS TO BE NOTIFIED IMMEDIATELY,  if and when a pending action involving maternity, paternity, annulment, legal separation, dissolution, custody, parenting time or support matter is filed in Superior Court. Please provide the case number if you have it.

    The second type is an Injunction Against Harassment and is used when…

    …the parties are dating, but have never lived together.

    …the parties have a relationship not previously listed.

    …the parties share a workplace.

    Filing the Petition

    When you arrive, court staff will help you determine the Protective Order type for your situation and provide instructions on completing the necessary paperwork for a judge’s review. Please allow at least 1 hour to complete this process and be prepared to describe all incidents between yourself and the person you are seeking protection from. If you are seeking protection from multiple persons you will need to complete additional paperwork for each person.

    You will need to provide the court with…

    …all past or present court proceedings involving yourself and the person you are seeking protection from.

    …the full name, date of birth, and description of the person you are seeking protection from.

    …the home and work addresses where the Court Order can be served on the person you are seeking protection from.

    Your address and telephone number will remain confidential. This information is only needed if court staff need to contact you regarding a hearing.

    Once you complete the paperwork you will meet with a judge to discuss your request. Please be aware that not all requests are granted and some may require a court hearing with the person you are seeking protection from before issuance. If the Court Order will be served outside the Town of Camp Verde it may be in your best interest to request the Court Order in the jurisdiction where it will be served.

    Be advised that Protective Orders are not valid until they are served on the person you are seeking protection from.

    Court Orders can be served in three ways:
    1. If the person being served resides within the Town of Camp Verde , court staff may be able to coordinate service of the Court Order with the Camp Verde Marshall’s office and they will attempt to serve the Court Order. However, not all Court Orders can be served in this manner. The most critical aspect of this service method is the accuracy of the person’s address you provide the court.
    2. If you do not know where the person being served lives, you can take the Court Order with you and can call police when you learn where the person is, or when you have contact with the person. If this occurs in the Town of Camp Verde, call (928) 567-6621. If this occurs outside the Town of Camp Verde, call the law enforcement agency in the area. If the person is in the Yavapai County Jail just present the order to jail staff and they will serve it. State law requires any law enforcement agency to serve an Order of Protection, however this provision does not apply to an Injunction Against Harassment.
    3. Your last option for service is to take the Court Order with you and hire a private process server to serve the Order. Note: When the person being served with a Court Order is under 16 years of age, a parent will also be served.
    Notification of Service

    Once the Court Order has been served, the police, sheriff or process server will provide the court with a Certificate of Service and a copy will be mailed to the Yavapai County Sheriff’. The Court Order is valid for 1 year from the date of service. If the Court Order is not served within one year, it automatically expires.


    The person you filed against can request a hearing any time prior to the expiration of the Court Order. If this occurs, the hearing will be set 5 to 10 days from the request and you will be notified by court staff. It is critical that you keep the Court informed of any change in telephone or address. If you fail to appear at the hearing the judge may dismiss the Court Order.

    Dismissal of a Court Order

    Orders of Protection & Injunctions Against Harassment can only be dismissed by a judge. If the individual that requested the Court Order would like the court to consider dismissing the Order they must come to the Court and complete the required paperwork.

    You may either obtain the Plaintiff’s Guide Sheet and a Petition for a Protective Order at the court,  print out the online versions available here or follow the link to Arizona Supreme Court website for self-service forms.